Allow Me to Re-Introduce Myself…

Hello there. Allow me to reintroduce myself, my name is Troy… (excuse the Jay-Z reference). For the next few months I am going to be blogging about Christianity in the mainstream culture. But why me? Why Christianity?

Well first of all, it seems like everything is getting attention in the mainstream media, but not our old school religious beliefs. Despite the fact that most Americans do have some form of belief, no one really talks about it anymore. In my life, I was raised in the church and it was something my family held dear.

My father would take us to church every Sunday morning, and my family actually enjoyed going. Playing gospel music in the car, such songs as “Jesus is Love” from Lionel Richie, and Shirley Cesaer songs still resonate in the back of my mind on Sundays.

In my life, I’ve come a long way since those days of listening to gospel music in the car with my family on my way to church. I have lived in 6 different states and have changed several times in that timespan. But the one thing that has not changed is the rock of religion that has been by my side. I have changed careers several times, was in several different relationships, hairstyles, cars, and houses, but yet that has remained constant. God has always been my help and best friend. Does this resonate with you too?

I still love church and still love seeing its impact on people across the world. So thats the point of me writing and shedding light on it. If you have stories that are relevant, please feel free to send them in to me, or just feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

