Shutting Everything Off…

I have recently decided to try a social experiment. This experiment involves turning off everything electronic: iPhone, television, iPad, Laptop; all communications for 24 hours. Here is a sidenote: if you know me at all, you know that I am always, ‘dialed in’. I’m always in contact with my phone, my social media feeds, all the time. I will even wake up in the middle of the night to respond to notification alerts coming through my cell phone.

How did this come about? I was recently watching Nicole Richie’s reality show in which her circle of friends coined a new term, nomophobia, the fear of being out of contact with your mobile phone. I thought to myself, is that me? Am I constantly in need to be around my phone? Even when nothing is happening (like at 3am in the morning).

I am sure many can relate to this. We rely on our smartphone for literally everything. Getting driving directions, news feeds, staying in contact with friends, even for looking up Bible scriptures?! So this experiment attempts to strip down all of these ‘1st World’ luxuries and be able to better tap into my spirit. If Christianity is all about having a relationship with Christ, then stripping down all these things should allow us to better tap into hearing His voice, and tuning out all others. I encourage you to join me in this as well. Here are the details:

Go 24 hours without being connected to any outside source:

smartphone

television

internet (via computer)

tablets

So are you going to join me? Tune in next time, where I will post my results

Leave a Reply

