Are We True Followers, or Are We Fans?

I recently went on a brief mini-vacation to Vancouver, Canada for a few days and while I was there, a few things dawned on me. In our Christian walk, are we genuine in saying that we follow Jesus, or are we just fans of Jesus?

What exactly is the difference?

A fan is someone who admires someone else. For example, I am a fan of Lebron James. When I see him play, I wear his jersey in the arena. I appreciate his style of basketball. I can tell you his stats and his career wins and great moments that I have witnessed. But that is about it. I do not have a relationship with him. I do not know him personally. In fact I have never met him. I am just a fan.

I believe that is how many people interact with Jesus. They are fans of Him. They know the miracles He performed in the scriptures, they can tell you the places that He went, and even some of the many things that He said in the scriptures. Yet they do not know Him personally and are not true followers of His.

So then what is a true follower?

A true follower, or a disciple, is one that adopts the teaching of Jesus. Jesus gave only 2 commandments, yet we see very Christians living by these commandments. The commandments are to love God with all of your heart, and to love your neighbor as yourself. Do we see many people loving their neighbor as themselves? Not really. We see a lot of people calling themselves Christians, but cursing out their neighbors, or cutting them off on the freeway and yelling profanities at them.

The purpose of this writing is not to condemn anyone, or make them feel guilty, but just to encourage you to not be a mere a fan of Jesus. But to actually resemble Him in everything that you do. Remember, He lives through you, so it is time we represent Him fully!

Leave a Reply

